Chiefs Players Named to All-District Football Team

The Iowa All-District Teams have been announced and five Keokuk Chiefs were named to either the first or second team for 3A District 6.

Sophomore Tristyn O’Connor was the lone Chief on the first team after leading the team with 56 tackles, good for third in the district, while also starting every game at left guard for Keokuk, providing strong blocking in both the run and pass games.

Classmates Corey Skinner and Anthony Potratz were named to the second team. Skinner passed for 541 yards while rushing for 347 and scoring seven total touchdowns. He also finished with 33.5 tackles and an interception defensively.

Potratz was the top receiver for Keokuk and also one of their best defensive players on the season as well. The sophomore caught 19 passes for 181 yards, both of which led the team, and scored two touchdowns and a two-point conversion.

Defensively, Potratz finished with 30.5 tackles, 1.5 of which was for a loss, and also picked off two passes, returning one of them for a touchdown.

Juniors Dylan Jeffers and Braylon Martinez were also named to the second team for Keokuk.

Primarily a defensive player, Jeffers was second on the team with 46.5 tackles while leading the Chiefs with 11 solo tackles for loss and 4.5 total sacks, both of which were good for third in the district.

Martinez was the third leading rusher in the district while pacing the Chiefs with 569 yards on 5.2 yards a carry and four touchdowns. He also contributed 15.5 tackles defensively and was arguably the Chiefs’ top player in pass coverage, consistently breaking up passes.

Juniors RJ Bryant, Austin Smith and Brent Merydith III were also named to the District All-Academic Team. To make this team a player must be a junior or senior and maintain a 3.25 minimum GPA.