Candidates for Mayor, Council in Keokuk Finalized

Now that Thursday’s deadline for candidates for the Keokuk City Council has passed we know who our candidates for the November 7th election will be. 4 candidates for Mayor of Keokuk will be on the ballot as Carl Morgan, Tom Richardson, Patricia Whiteside, and Daniel Winn all returned the required signatures for a nomination. 2 Candidates will be on the ballot for at-large councilman that will be vacated by Dan Winn and they will be Devon Dade and Joe Shuman. First ward incumbent Mike O’Connor will seek reelection and be contested by Dianne Stanley. The 5th ward seat left open upon Sandy Pollitt’s retirement from the council will feature the most hotly contested race in terms of quantity. Michael Greenwald, Barbara Haas, and Steve Rairden all gained the requisite number of signatures. Incumbent 3rd ward councilman Ron Payne and 7th ward councilwoman Susan Dunek filed the necessary paperwork and will run unopposed for their seats on the ballot. The Keokuk City election will take place Tuesday November 7th.